#TalkToMe: A Conversation With My Polish Mother

mother-and-son

I’ve been writing for Huffington Post for several years, so when I heard about the opportunity to participate in its “#TalkToMe series, in which children were asked to interview their parents, I jumped at the chance.

My Polish family’s history is deeply embedded into my internal framework. I learned that all too well after researching, writing and then submitting to a publisher, my memoir, “Grace Revealed.”  In it, I document my account of unraveling how my mother, her siblings and their parents, managed to maneuver through WWII, in the wake of Stalin’s mass deportations of Polish people. Their quest for home was astounding.

Seventy-five years later, my own search for home and place took an interesting turn.

Here is our conversation.

Leave a Reply

